Creating Opportunities for Students and Teachers

Teaching Chairs and Awards - Modified

Highly skilled, experienced teachers are the cornerstone of a good education, and one of the Chapel Hill-Carrboro Foundation's top priorities is helping the district attract and retain the best teachers. One of the ways PSF works to achieve that goal is by awarding Endowed Teaching Chairs and other annual recognition awards. These chairs and awards acknowledge the contribution of outstanding educators in the school system and reward their efforts on the behalf of students.

Chair honorees receive monetary awards of $1,000 annually, and hold the chair for two to three years, depending on their specific chair. Recipients are selected by committees consisting of parents, students, administrators, Foundation Board members, teachers, and donor representatives. Each year, the PSF will provide the community with an opportunity to nominate teachers for that year's chair awards, kicking off a rigorous application and evaluation process. Click here to learn more about the PSF Chair Award Process.

Endowed chairs are created and supported by private contributions from individual donors or groups of donors. They have served as a wonderful way to honor both the recipients of the chairs and the people in whose names they have been established. An endowed chair that is presented over time and presumably into perpetuity requires a significant principal amount of support to generate an annual gift. An award can be funded annually or for a specific number of years. To establish either a chair or an award, contact the Foundation Staff. Click here to view Honorees of Teaching Chairs and Awards.

Elementary School Chairs

Sockwell Chair for Excellence in Teaching Primary Grades (preK-2)  
The chair was the first elementary level teaching chair established by the Foundation. It honors former school board chair Phyllis Sockwell and her aunt who were teachers. The chair, set up as an endowment fund, is awarded to teachers of grades preK-2 in a two-year cycle.          

Upper Elementary Chair for Excellence in Teaching Innovation 
The second elementary teaching chair was established as an endowment to honor outstanding, innovative teachers of grades 3-5 districtwide. The award is presented in a two-year cycle.

Middle School Chairs

GlaxoSmithKline Chair for Excellence in Teaching Middle School Science or Math     
The Glaxo Chair was the first middle school teaching chair established by the Foundation. Starting in 2013-14 school year it will be awarded in a two-year cycle, honoring outstanding middle school science or math teachers. It was first awarded in 1988-89.     

Zora Rashkis Chair for Excellence in Teaching Middle School Language Arts or Social Studies
An endowment fund was created to honor Mrs. Rashkis, who was a much loved teacher at Phillips and Culbreth Middle Schools. The chair has been awarded to outstanding middle school language arts teachers. Starting with the 2013-14 school year, the award has been expanded to include middle school candidates teaching Social Studies. This is a two-year award. 

High School Chairs

Elmo's Chair for Excellence in Teaching High School Math or Science 
The chair began with an initial endowment from Kaiser Permanente and continued in 2006 with a supplemental gift from Elmo's Diner and the Upper Elementary Chair Fund. It has a three-year term.

Bernadine Sullivan Chair for Excellence in Teaching High School English or Social Studies
The endowment was created by the family of English teacher Bernadine Sullivan at Chapel Hill High School, and is being expanded in 2013-14 school year from an English teaching award to include Social Studies. The award is presented in a two-year cycle.

District-wide Chairs

Burton Stuart Chair for Promising New Teachers in Math or Science    
The endowed fund, created by his son, honors Bud Stuart, a long-time math teacher at Chapel Hill High School and the first recipient of the first teaching chair awarded in the district. Beginning in the 2013-14 school year, the Stuart Chair will be presented in a three-year cycle to a non-tenured teacher who shows great promise in teaching math or science in either middle or high school. 

Neil Pedersen Teachers First Chair for Excellence in Classroom Technology     
The endowed fund was created by the Foundation to honor the superintendent and as a part of the Teachers First campaign. The chair is awarded to a teacher who incorporates technology into the classroom. Beginning in the 2013-14 school year, this will be awarded in a three-year alternating cycle. One cycle will recognize classroom teachers, and the next cycle will recognize technology or media specialists and career technical education teachers.

PTA Chair for Excellence in Teaching Cultural Arts  
This chair, first awarded in the 2013-14 school year, honors outstanding teachers in the district who teach music, voice, visual and dramatic arts at any grade level. The chair is awarded on a three-year cycle. 

Mary Scroggs Award for Excellence in Support Services
This award targets school staff members in supporting roles, as teacher assistants, clerical and office jobs, custodial personnel, maintenance, transportation, and food services who provide outstanding services to students and their colleagues. It is an annual award supported by an endowed fund in memory of Mary Scroggs, a long-term member and former chair of the Chapel Hill-Carrboro Board of Education.

District-wide Annual Awards

Chapel Hill-Carrboro Chamber of Commerce Award for Excellence in Exceptional Education and Student Services 
The annual award targets school staff members who educate exceptional children or work in student services. 

Elmo's Award for Excellence in Teaching World Languages/ELL 
The award is presented to an outstanding teacher of world language or a teacher of English Language Learners at any grade level, K-12. 

Jeanette Blackwell Award for Excellence in Mentoring 
Established in memory of excellent teacher and district-wide elementary mentor Jeanette Blackwell, the award honors a teacher each year who mentors other teachers.

Public School Foundation Award for Excellence in School Administration
This annual award recognizes Lincoln Center staff for exceptional leadership and professionalism in the service of our school district. 

Public School Foundation Award for Excellence in Teaching Exceptional Children 
The annual award is presented to an outstanding faculty member who teaches exceptional children. 

Public School Foundation Award for Promising New Teachers 
The Foundation recognizes and honors an outstanding first-year teacher who is selected by nominations from schools and on-site observations by representatives of the selection committee.

Teacher of the Year Awards
The Foundation, in conjunction with Harrington Bank, honors the district-wide Teacher of the Year and two Honor Teachers. The award carries a $1,000 cash gift to the district-wide Teacher of the Year and $500 gifts to each of the two honor teachers. In addition, the Foundation provides each school’s Teacher of the Year with a $100 cash gift.


Nonprofit web design and development by New Media Campaigns