Creating Opportunities for Students and Teachers

2016-17 Teaching Chair Award Nominations

The Chapel Hill-Carrboro Public School Foundation supports ten multi-year teaching chair awards across multiple teaching disciplines in the school district. This year, four of these chair awards are open for nominations. The nomination window is open through January 31, 2017.

Click here to learn more about the PSF Chair Award Process.

Elementary School

Upper Elementary Chair for Excellence in Teaching Innovation 

This teaching chair was established as an endowment to honor outstanding, innovative teachers of grades 3-5 districtwide. The award is presented in a two-year cycle.  

Middle School

Zora Rashkis Chair for Excellence in Teaching Middle School Language Arts or Social Studies

An endowment fund was created to honor Mrs. Rashkis, who was a much loved teacher at Phillips and Culbreth Middle Schools. The chair has been awarded to outstanding middle school language arts teachers. Starting with the 2013-14 school year, the award has been expanded to include middle school candidates teaching Social Studies. This is a two-year award. 


Burton Stuart Chair for Promising New Teachers in Math or Science

The endowed fund, created by his son, honors Bud Stuart, a long-time math teacher at Chapel Hill High School and the first recipient of the first teaching chair awarded in the district. Beginning in the 2013-14 school year, the Stuart Chair will be presented in a three-year cycle to a beginning teacher (less than three years teaching) who shows great promise in teaching math or science in either middle or high school. 

PTA Chair for Excellence in Teaching Cultural Arts

This chair, first awarded in the 2013-14 school year, honors outstanding teachers in the district who teach music, voice, visual and dramatic arts at any grade level. The chair is awarded on a three-year cycle and is sponsored by PTAs district-wide.

Nonprofit web design and development by New Media Campaigns