Creating Opportunities for Students and Teachers

Awardees of Teaching Chairs


The Chapel Hill-Carrboro Public School Foundation is delighted to announce the two most recent recipients of teaching chairs in the Chapel Hill-Carrboro School System.

Tate Little, a 4th and 5th grade teacher at Carrboro Elementary School since 2005, was awarded the Upper Elementary Chair for Excellence in Teaching Innovation.  Mr. Little was Carrboro’s Teacher of the Year in 2010-11.  He is an exceptionally creative teacher who works continually to engage all students in learning.   Mr. Little helps his students become independent learners by involving them in collaborative projects such as launching rockets into the atmosphere with a homemade microcomputer on board to record temperature, pressure and G forces.   Mr. Little has involved the entire school in organic gardening by receiving a Chartwells Grow a School Garden Grant.  He has also been a Boys in Action Co-Leader, providing community and leadership opportunities for minority boys.   

Jennifer Scott, a 7th grade Language Arts teacher at Phillips Middle School since 2004, was awarded the Zora Rashkis Chair for Excellence in Teaching Middle School Language Arts.    Ms. Scott has a personal passion for reading and writing that she creatively translates into engaging lessons for her students.   They create alphabiographies, writing about every letter in the alphabet.  They create book trailers using iMovie and enjoy this project greatly because they are in control of their own learning.   Ms. Scott is a Nationally Board Certified teacher and is currently working on her Masters degree in Curriculum and Instruction.

This year’s recipients were nominated by students, parents, and colleagues.   The candidates submitted applications, participated in interviews and were observed in their classrooms.   A committee of parents, students, administrators, teachers, donor representatives and Foundation Board members made the final selection.     The committee looked for teachers who ignite enthusiasm for learning, who create an exceptional learning environment for all students and who serve as a leaders and role models for learning and for their profession.

The Public School Foundation recognizes that experienced teachers are the most important factor in student learning and partners with the school district to attract and retain the best teachers.    Awarding Endowed Teaching Chairs each year is one way that the Foundation acknowledges the contributions of outstanding educators and rewards their efforts on behalf of the students.

Endowed chairs are created and supported by private contributions from individual donors or groups of donors. 

Nonprofit web design and development by New Media Campaigns